• June 23, 2021

National Geographic: The World Has Five, Not Four, Oceans

=== (AGENDAWATCHDOG) === Cartographers at the National Geographic have finally recognised Antarctica’s Southern Ocean on their maps, bringing their count of Earth’s oceans to five.

The society — which has been releasing maps of the world since 1915 — publicly announced their new policy yesterday, to coincide with World Ocean Day.

National Geographic have defined the ocean as being bound by the current that flows around Antarctica — with a northernmost reach up to the 60th parallel south.

The Southern Ocean joins the Arctic, Atlantic, Indian and Pacific on their charts, although the Antarctica-encircling body’s status remains internationally contested.

Nevertheless, National Geographic hope their revised maps will help people think differently about the Southern Ocean, thereby encouraging its conservation.

Agenda Watchdog

Read Previous

Tyson Fury’s So Fit He Could Fight Next Week, Says Training Partner Dmitry Salita

Read Next

Experts Claim $400 Billion In COVID Unemployment Benefits Was Funneled To Criminals In Russia, China And Nigeria

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *